Tasting Notes / The Glenfiddich Cask Collection

The Glenfiddich Cask Collection Review

Glenfiddich Vintage Cask The Glenfiddich Cask Collection is a series of three drams (Select Cask, Reserve Cask and Vintage Cask) which began arriving at Travel Retail locations the world over in September of 2013 and is due to reach UK shores from April 2014.

These three bottlings will become part of the permanent range at Travel Retail with current suggestions that they may replace the 12 Year Old, 15 Year Old and 14 Year Old Rich Oak expressions. I'm hopeful this is not true as the Rich Oak and 15 year old Solera Reserve are two of my personal favourite drams.

I was sent a sample of each of these drams by my good friend and fellow blogger Steve (@steveprentice) of Somerset Whisky Blog and I have to say although they were not what i was expecting all three are perfectly and easily drinkable.

With prices ranging from £39-£79 (the Select and Reserve Casks are 1l bottles the Vintage cask a 700ml) they are pretty well priced and the liquid inside is good quality, as you would expect from Glenfiddich, and I think the lavour profiles work well. I'm hoping upon hope that these become additions to the range and not replacements, but i'm sure time will tell.

Glenfiddich Cask Collection Reserve Cask Review

View Standard Review Page

Glenfiddich Reserve Cask The new Glenfiddich Cask Collection Reserve Cask began arriving at Travel Retail locations the world over in September of 2013 and will reach UK shores in April 2014 along with another couple of non age statement drams.

These three bottlings will become part of the permanent range at Travel Retail with current suggestions that they may replace the 12 Year Old, 15 Year Old and 14 Year Old Rich Oak expressions. I'm hopeful this is not true as the Rich Oak and 15 year old Solera Reserve are two of my personal favourite drams.

I was sent a sample of each of these drams by my good friend and fellow blogger Steve (@steveprentice) of Somerset Whisky Blog and I have to say although they were not what i was expecting all three are perfectly and easily drinkable.

This dram really is very pleasantly fruity and combines a good level of fruity sweetness with oak leaf sauce and oak woodyness to appease those who don't want their whisky too fruity..

Initial Press releases in September 2013 had this priced at around the £49 mark.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

initially a dose of dried fruits lots of raisins, prunes, sultanas coming through along with a very light hint of rubber, then it goes more fresh fruit with melon and the cherries from a tinned fruit salad in syrup a gentle splash of oak leaf sauce finishes up the nose.

Palate

oak leaf sauce comes through here with deep dark fruits in here, lots of prunes and dried apricots with christmas cake mixed spices

Finish

christmas cake mixed spices with prunes juice

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: Glenfiddich Cask Collection Reserve Cask
Age: NAS
ABV: 40.00
Distiller: Glenfiddich
Bottler: Glenfiddich
Type: Single Malt
From: Scotland, Speyside
Posted: 25/02/2014 by Tom

Glenfiddich Cask Collection Select Cask Review

View Standard Review Page

Glenfiddich Select Cask The new Glenfiddich Cask Collection Select Cask began arriving at Travel Retail locations the world over in September of 2013 and will reach UK shores in April 2014 along with another couple of non age statement drams.

These three bottlings will become part of the permanent range at Travel Retail with current suggestions that they may replace the 12 Year Old, 15 Year Old and 14 Year Old Rich Oak expressions. I'm hopeful this is not true as the Rich Oak and 15 year old Solera Reserve are two of my personal favourite drams.

I was sent a sample of each of these drams by my good friend and fellow blogger Steve (@steveprentice) of Somerset Whisky Blog and I have to say although they were not what i was expecting all three are perfectly and easily drinkable.

This particular expression reminded me of my breakfast with Weetabix and fruit and I really hope this is just an addition to the standard range as i really enjoy the Glenfiddich 12 Year Old.

Initial Press releases in September 2013 had this priced at around the £39 mark.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

An initial hit of malt loaf and weetabix comes across before it settles down to a more grassy note with hints of freshly cut beetroot and lemongrass, a sweet hay note is in here too along with some orange and grapefruit peels

Palate

malty and oaky with hints of sweet orange and grapefruit peel mixed with beetroot and black pepper

Finish

malty with a hint of crushed black pepper

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: Glenfiddich Cask Collection Select Cask
Age: NAS
ABV: 40.00
Distiller: Glenfiddich
Bottler: Glenfiddich
Type: Single Malt
From: Scotland, Speyside
Posted: 25/02/2014 by Tom

Glenfiddich Cask Collection Vintage Cask Review

View Standard Review Page

Glenfiddich Vintage Cask The new Glenfiddich Cask Collection Vintage Cask is part of the new Cask Collection which began arriving at Travel Retail locations the world over in September of 2013 and will reach UK shores in April 2014 along with another couple of non age statement drams.

These three bottlings will become part of the permanent range at Travel Retail with current suggestions that they may replace the 12 Year Old, 15 Year Old and 14 Year Old Rich Oak expressions. I'm hopeful this is not true as the Rich Oak and 15 year old Solera Reserve are two of my personal favourite drams.

I was sent a sample of each of these drams by my good friend and fellow blogger Steve (@steveprentice) of Somerset Whisky Blog and I have to say although they were not what i was expecting all three are perfectly and easily drinkable.

This whisky really does have lots of potential, there's lemony fruity citrus notes and a really strong malty note that almosts goes peaty, i really do think this dram is worthy of trying, my only wish is that is was a touch stronger ABV wise to give it a thicker mouthfeel.

Initial Press releases in September 2013 had this priced at around the £79 mark.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

Oh now this is interesting, there's light speyside coastal peat with seasalt and with malt, dried cereals and malt loaf, then it's lemony citrus, lots of lemon and lime peel with lemon zest.

Palate

sweet and lemony to begin with before a gentle malt loaf and subtle speyside peat and dry weetabix.

Finish

gentle peat and lemon freshness

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: Glenfiddich Cask Collection Vintage Cask
Age: NAS
ABV: 40.00
Distiller: Glenfiddich
Bottler: Glenfiddich
Type: Single Malt
From: Scotland, Speyside
Posted: 25/02/2014 by Tom





Please note links to retailers may be affiliate links tracked by cookies and Toms Whisky Reviews may receive a percentage in commission for any purchases you make. Due to the nature of retail, Toms Whisky Reviews do not guarantee of any of the items being in stock, please check with the retailer for up to date stock levels.