Tasting Notes / SMWS Feel Good Moments Big November Outturn

SMWS Feel Good Moments Big November Outturn Review

The Scotch Malt Whisky SocietyEvery November The Scotch Malt Whisky Society release a Big Outturn just in time to pick up Christmas Presents and with usually around 40 different expressions, many at great value for money present prices, it's the ideal time to pick up a bottle or two.

I went along to the preview evening at Queen Street last night and was lucky enough to try a number of these drams, picking out the ones that I liked the look of (so anything ex-bourbon cask mainly).

The full list will be out on Friday 13th November but the following notes will give you an idea of what to expect.

Thanks to The Scotch Malt Whisky Society for having me along last night to try these drams.

SMWS 1.198 Night nurse in a carpenters overalls Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 1.198 Night nurse in a carpenters overalls from the 1st distillery bottled by The Scotch Malt Whisky Society .

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

This is again an ex-bourbon cask from a distillery known for ex sherry but it works and makes me wonder why these distilleries dont do this themselves, but they they wouldn't do it as good as this would they.

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no21 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

lots of lovely oaky spicy notes in here hints of sawdust and oak leaf sauce, light sweet crushed mixed nuts, hints of pea pod shells and roast vegetables

Palate

sweet, meaty, lovely fruity notes, melon and light watery syrup, very tasty and very easy to drink

Finish

lovely sweet fruity

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 1.198 Night nurse in a carpenters overalls
Age: 21
ABV: 55.20
Distiller: Glenfarclas
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Speyside
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS 13.47 Its a Knockout Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 13.47 It's a Knockout was one from the list that really interested me.

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

This distillery is normally bottled in heavy sherry finishes so getting it without that sherry influence works wonders for me. Sweet, cake like and filled with yummy goodness, this was my dram of the evening

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no19 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

starting with creamed sugar and butter, sickly sweet, then strawberry jam, vanilla essence and creaminess it's basically a victoria sponge cake in a glass with toffee covered scones on the side

Palate

sweet, quite meaty then the sponge cake and bready scones come through, lovely and sweet, dumplings from stew and hints of roast sweet peppers

Finish

sweet, sticky, yummy

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 13.47 Its a Knockout
Age: 10
ABV: 59.30
Distiller: Dalmore
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Highland
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS 26.115 Pilates for the palate Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 26.115 Pilates for the palate is from a distillery that i really enjoy the waxy notes from .

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

This is again an ex-bourbon cask and it has given this dram some real afticial sweetener type notes, lots of sweetness here, lots and lots in fact but it's tangy enough still to be wonderfully drinkable.

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no22 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

initially waxy with sweet beeswax notes then it gets sweeter, really sweet infact with st germaine cordial, light watery syrup, fresh honeydew and cantaloupe melon, menthol chewing gum hinting in the background

Palate

spicy tangy and waxy all at once, oily mouthfeel with sweet watery syrup and a tangy and moreish twist

Finish

tangy, sweet, yummy

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 26.115 Pilates for the palate
Age: 15
ABV: 56.20
Distiller: Clynelish
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Highland
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS 29.173 Forget time and space Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 29.173 Forget time and space a cracker Islay dram that needs no introduction.

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

Salty, really really salty, lots of salted chips and salted crisps very seaside like, i enjoyed this but it wont be to everyones taste.

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no28 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

Salty, really salty, seaside fish and chips, salty seaweed, and hints of underlying sweet oak and nuts

Palate

tangy, salty, ready salted crisps and salted tortilla chips, haribo tangtastics and crispy seaweed

Finish

salty, juicy, tangy, sweet, yum

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 29.173 Forget time and space
Age: 16
ABV: 59.80
Distiller: Laphroaig
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Islay
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS 4.214 After hours Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 4.214 After hours isanother ex bourbon cask from this fabulous distillery that usually use ex sherry and i normally love these.

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

Gentle smoke and lots of american cream soda, for me this isn't quite at the levels of 4.182 Slippery Shape Shifter but it's still exactly the type of dram i like to drink.

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no24 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

sweet initially then puffs of gentle smoke, american cream soda, dry farmyard hay bales, hints of almond paste and fresh vanilla seeds

Palate

lovely sweet earthy smoke, gentle and vegetal, monthol and sweet juicy fruit chewing gum

Finish

a puff of smoke with spice and some natural yoghurt creaminess

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 4.214 After hours
Age: 19
ABV: 54.40
Distiller: Highland Park
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Islands
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS 42.16 what it says on the tin Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 42.16 what it says on the tin might not taste or smell like ronseal but it's a cracker.

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

lots of cigar smoke and honey roast veg, light vanilla and some lactic notes (the good kind) i liked this a lot.

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no27 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

Cigar smoke comes first, then earthy honey roast root vegetables, light vanilla and a hint of smoked applewood cheese

Palate

cigars again, lots of them, sweet honey roast veg, smoked cheese again

Finish

lots of sweetness and honey

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 42.16 what it says on the tin
Age: 9
ABV: 59.60
Distiller: Tobermory
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Islands
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS 5.46 Peachy and Perky Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 5.46 Peachy and Perky was one i jumped at from the list.

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

I'm a big fan of distillery 5 with 5.36 Rubbing white tiger balm on your forehead being one of my altime favourite drams.

The nose here was fabulous but the palate i felt was a little too light and the finish short, it's very drinkable and a great nosing whisky, I would just have liked more on the palate.

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no18 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

huge prickly sweet citrus fruits come first, the prickle is almost enough to make you sneeze, lemongrass, citrus fruits, tangy haribo sweets and hints of sherbert fizz

Palate

soft light fudge and sweet candy floss, light and delicate, citrus notes with hints of floral arrangements

Finish

a hint of spice comes through but it's very short and easily forgotten

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 5.46 Peachy and Perky
Age: 14
ABV: 58.90
Distiller: Auchentoshan
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Lowland
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS 50.71 Alfresco Brunch Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 50.71 Alfresco Brunch was one another from a Lowland distillery i've not had enough from.

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

The usual grassy riverbank notes from this distillery are there and hopefully the future of this place has been secured and we will continue to get distillery 50 bottlings for years to come.

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no20 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

light and grassy, riverbank flowers and vegetation, chewy light jelly sweets, watery melon, sweet watered down syrup

Palate

the nose doesnt match as well, it's more oaky here, maybe too oaky, wet cardboard, vanilla, dunnage warehouse and wet grass

Finish

dunnage warehouses, oak spices.

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 50.71 Alfresco Brunch
Age:
ABV: 58.20
Distiller: Bladnoch
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Lowland
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS 63.33 Rich treacly and sumptuous Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 63.33 Rich treacly and sumptuous which was one of the couple of ex sherry cask drams i tried..

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

Nutty, vinegar tang and quite unusual this is sweet and cloying but totally drinkable, maybe i need to go back to drinking more ex sherry drams afterall.

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no26 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

starts off quite nutty, mixed crushed nuts, malt vinegar, tannic, sweet and cloying, lovely fresh sweetness underneath with gentle spices

Palate

tangy and spicy, gentle crushed mixed nuts, crunchy nut corn flakes and hints of balsamic vinegar

Finish

sweet nutty, tangy

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 63.33 Rich treacly and sumptuous
Age: 9
ABV: 61.60
Distiller: Glentauchers
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Speyside
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS 85.32 Grannies Behaving Badly (and madly!) Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 85.32 Grannies Behaving Badly (and madly!) is from a distillery that i havent had much from .

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

Orchard fruity and light sweetness almost like a Glenmorangie but without the citrus tange, this is a lovely sweet, drinkable dram

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no23 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

light apple notes first, then it becomes stronger and stronger with the mixed orchard fruits, light woody notes fresh and gentle, apple lip balm and melon coulis

Palate

sweet, light, juicy fruity cantaloupe melon balls, with hints of nuts, utterly delicious

Finish

sweet, lovely, delicious

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 85.32 Grannies Behaving Badly (and madly!)
Age: 9
ABV: 60.60
Distiller: Glen Elgin
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Speyside
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS 96.8 Relaxing in an alpine meadow Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this 96.8 Relaxing in an alpine meadow is a distillery not often seen.

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

Sweet, spicy, floral and hints of syrup, i could drink a lot of this, its right up my street.

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no25 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

light and fresh, watery light syrup, lovely sweet honeydew melon and wood sap, pine needles and tinned fruit salad

Palate

sweet and spicy, haribo tangtastics, lovely traditional floral gums, quite perfumey, lovely and sweet through

Finish

sweet, tangy, perfumey, lovely

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS 96.8 Relaxing in an alpine meadow
Age: 9
ABV: 54.60
Distiller: Glendronach
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Single Cask Single Malt
From: Scotland, Speyside
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom

SMWS B3.2 Ooey Gooey Cinnamon Bun Review

View Standard Review Page

The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Tasted as Part of the Big November List preview evening at Queen street this B3.2 Ooey Gooey Cinnamon Bun was an interesting start to the evening.

This dram will be officially launched on Friday 13th November.

This was very different for me to the B3.1 A little box of treasures which I wasn’t keen on, but then I always thought the order of drams had affected the B3.1 for me.

This B3.2 is brilliant though and if you’ve never had a cask strength Bourbon, now is the time to try.

I'm planning again to get to over 100 The Scotch Malt Whisky Society reviews again in 2015 and this is no17 of that, I may not make it as i've been running behind this year but I will be trying as hard as i can to get there.

You can view all of The Scotch Malt Whisky Society drams i've reviewed in 2014 by clicking here and for all the ones in 2015 by clicking here.

If you are a whisky fan you really should consider joining The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

Tasting Notes & Details

Nose

Very oaky/woody to begin with, then spiced vanilla sugar, chalky lovely toasted oak, freshly baked sponge cakes and undercooked fruit scones.

Palate

sweet and sticky with spicy tang, lots of cloved spiced orange peel, hints of lemongrass and a tang of menthol.

Finish

demerera sugar coated orange peel and spiced crust, very drinkable.

Bottle Details

Bottle Name: SMWS B3.2 Ooey Gooey Cinnamon Bun
Age: 3
ABV: 55.30
Distiller: Rocktown
Bottler: Scotch Malt Whisky Society
Type: Bourbon
From: USA, No Defined Scottish Region
Posted: 11/11/2015 by Tom





Please note links to retailers may be affiliate links tracked by cookies and Toms Whisky Reviews may receive a percentage in commission for any purchases you make. Due to the nature of retail, Toms Whisky Reviews do not guarantee of any of the items being in stock, please check with the retailer for up to date stock levels.