18/10/17
Ian Macleods Gordon Doctor Answers Some Questions on Rosebank
With the recent news that Ian Macleod have purchased the stock, trademark and site of the old Rosebank distillery I took the opportunity to ask some questions of Gordon Doctor, Director of Whisky Operations at Ian Macleod Distillers, about Rosebanks Future.




22/09/17
The Great Score Debate
There have been hundreds, if not thousands, of debates around the world in all forms of communication about the pros and cons of systems for scoring whisky, this article won’t regurgitate all of that, but it will look at why we don’t do scoring on this site at present, and then it might present a way of scoring whiskies that really is more personal and thoughtful.




10/02/17
Record Year for Rare Whisky as Profitable Passions Gain Favour
The booming UK rare whisky auction market has become 'increasingly liquid' in an exceptional year for rare Scotch, according to a new report published today by whisky analyst, broker and investment experts Rare Whisky 101.




15/12/16
My Top 5 Whiskies Reviewed in 2016
It's almost the end of yet another year, and as 2016 draws to a close, all around people are giving their opinions on what are, were, or will be the best of something or other, so I really should do the same shouldn't I.




08/06/16
Opinions are Like ...
Yes, you're correct I'm talking about that famous quote, the one that basically tells you to think for yourself, not to worry about what other people say and to just go with what makes you happy




05/02/16
Rare Whisky Outperforms Gold Wine and Equities in Stellar Year
The market for rare whisky in 2015 significantly outperformed many other well established asset classes, including wine and gold, according to figures published today by whisky analyst, broker and investment experts Rare Whisky 101.




12/01/16
Gone But Not Forgotten
We've all had one of those drams, the limited edition bottling which has now sold out, the single cask bottle which has sold out everywhere before you noticed, or the expression that has been replaced or discontinued.




10/11/15
What Exactly Is A Wee Dram
So I've been asked this question a multitude of times by a great many people... "what is A Wee Dram?" But to answer that question properly there are a multitude of answers.




25/10/15
The Best Whisky in the World ... Ever
Now I know the headline is going to catch the eye but this really is about how we decide, for ourselves, what the best whisky in the world ever is.




24/10/15
Looking for Japanese Whisky?
Sales of Japanese Whisky are having a major turn for the good, with our recent article even noting that Karuizawa, for example, has increased by 66.05% at the half year point (of 2015), outperforming any other single malt Scotch brand.




23/10/15
Ben Checks Out The Special Releases
Every year about this time, Diageo release 10 or so whiskies as a Special Release. This started life as the much loved Rare Malts range, a rather epic set of great single malts released that would have otherwise have been blended away into stuff.




19/10/15
Edinburgh - A City Bar None
If anyone, anywhere, asked me what my favourite city in the world was I really would have to answer with Edinburgh. There's no place in the world with as much culture, food, entertainment and down right amazing people.




16/10/15
Values Soar as Demand for Rare Whisky Booms
Back in August I received a Press Release about Whisky valuations that has sat in my to-do folder every since. With the day job being very busy and my thoughts on investing in and collecting whisky this article has sat for while without me doing much about it.




05/10/15
Why Your Whisky Retailer Should Be Your Best Friend
Back in 2012 I wrote an article on price comparisons of online to supermarket to specialist retailer (you can read that article here) so I thought it was about time I revisited it a little and explained some more of the reasons I think spending time with your specialist retailer is a very good move.




27/09/15
Does NAS mean NAS-ty?
You would think with all the public moaning many whisky bloggers, writers and commentators have been doing that No Age Statement (NAS) whisky is awful,






| Next Page | Last Page

Get Your Angel Share Here

Get Your Angels' Share

Below are a number of Specialist Retailers from whom you can purchase your Whisky, and other spirits, remember to check them all for the best deal for you.